The life lessons bequeathed upon the young by the older generations

The life lessons bequeathed upon the young by the older generations are often held in the highest regards, yet in the contemporary days, some are arguing that these ideas are archaic and inapplicable in modern life. In my opinion, although, to a certain extent, [the generation gap between the elderlies and the youth] makes their experiences incompatible, there are still some benefits in learning from our predecessors. Firstly, [it is arguable that] as the years go by, society changes, and as such creates a disparity between the old and the young, especially in their “perspective”. The schools of thought once governed the life of our forefathers are often viewed as obsolete and irrelevant today, with many youngsters outright rejecting the old ways of life. For example, in many developed countries, women are vehemently opposing the traditional role of housewife that their mothers used to be proud of, citing a more opened job market with many career opportunities. Other similar ideas, such as early marriage and having children, are also being sidelined by young people for other aspects of life, including travels and exploration. On the other hand, [there is something to be said about] the “principle” and “diligence” that the older generations lived by. For instance, the old proverb "The early bird catches the worm" is a timeless metaphor that highlights the importance of hard work, an attitude that can help young people strive further in life regardless of circumstances. Moreover, traditional thinkings, like respect and kindness, are also impervious to the changes of time, and will undoubtedly remain essential for posterity. In conclusion, it is natural for the young to be reluctant to accept some of the traditional ideas of their forebears, but people should not dismiss these thinkings out of prejudice.