The key to reducing crime is to have more police patrolling the street. How far do you support this proposal? What other ways of reducing crime may be effective?

It is irrefutable that dwellers across the globe perturbed about high crime levels and practicable ways to lessen it, particularly in areas which are exposed to urbanization. The notion of assigning significant number of distinguishable police officers might be inviting, however some evidences will depict that it is not prime methodology and that other options are considered to be much more eligible. First and foremost, it ought to be identified what is the function of complimentary police force. Presumably, this approach would decrease petty crimes like public intoxication, vandalism, reckless driving, shoplifting and other anti-social demeanor, nevertheless, adamant felonies such as burglars and rubbers will invariably manage to shun anyhow. To illustrate, police patrols in American cities initially was capable of diminishing crime rate to some extent, but criminality then reach an equilibrium and remained at the lower rate, regardless how many staff were annexed. Secondly, various crimes, namely, hacking, fraud and identity crimes cannot be prevented on the street and therefore, policemen would not be cognizant about it anyway. This implies there is also a danger that present menace is responded with obsolete technique. A further possibility seems to be to ameliorate potency of merely functioning police officers, instead of enhancing their quantity. Improving their efficiency can be done by plenty of ways, as a proof, it would be advisable to initiate a contemporary and novel expertise related to technology use that could be helpful to cope with cybercrime. Another liable option would be to fortify fines and punishments, for example, people in Saudi Arabia commit less crimes compared other states, owing to capital punishment or Singapore has a reputation of safest country because of restrictive regulations and high fines even for minor delinquency. Most essentially, both approaches are fairly economical and efficacious. To summarize, enlarging the number of police force has finite virtue and would not have long-term effect as couple of alternative approaches. Refining training, teaching new skills and intensifying punishment would appear to have promising and far-reaching impact on deterring crime rate.