The internet will never replace traditional course books in school

Although there is a range of resources available to modern teacher, selection of an effective modus operandi is very crucial. It emerges to me that there will always be a place for conventional teaching practices in school curriculum, despite many benefits of the internet. These courses predominantly have been developed by pedalogical experts as an essential part of school curriculum, leading to testing procedure such as formal examination or continous assessment. This would improve students' academic performance as well as there potential for progression to further education. The use of modern course books allow pupils to coordinate their work as a part of group work, making their lessons less teacher-led, and more about autonomous learning into the bargain. Ultimately, internet would act as a suppliment and add to the knowledge which students are assimilating. However, it is the role of teachers and school management to ensure that the use of internet remains guided learning process, and not an exercise of data gathering which may be unrealistic. It is an undeniable fact that internet can be invaluable for adults who are able to discriminate between sources and sift information. Nevertheless, it is a mature skill and we should not assume that school age pupils are ready to do this. Overall, in my opinion traditional couse books had have an integral part of school syllabus, and internet as an appendix would be used to enhance the knowledge and understanding, if used carefully and under supervision of higher education department.