The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Do the advantages of this type of information outweigh the disadvantages?

The internet allows assessing instant free knowledge from anywhere through smartphones and computers. I consider this sort of information brings lots of gains apart from the negative effects. Admittedly, the use of the internet is beneficial for all people of any age. Every individual acquires knowledge through browsing it. There are many browsing sites that get at our fingertips. Google and Chrome are the most featured site which brings a plethora of information about a vast variety of topics in a few seconds. In addition, this accessibility is very useful for students for their education. For instance, the internet allows a graduate student of literature to check out plenty of questions regarding their curriculum. They can also clear the doubts about the topic over the head. Furthermore, a literature student can also easily know about the science field and other interesting subjects. The internet provides information in the form of video, written, and audio as well. Consequently, an average individual is able to acquire knowledge in a different way. On the other side, using this information highway to gather knowledge often mislead the individual. The major downside is self-consultation. With the free knowledge, which is available on different sites, some individuals make treatment to themselves. They do search about their symptoms online and act on the remedies shown as per their search. This kind of behavior could harm because of lacking appropriate treatment. Moreover, another issue is related to the authenticity of data. The web contains various kinds of information which are either based on exact information or personal opinions. Hence, the user should be careful on which site is used to obtain details. In conclusion, gathering information from the web through our devices is advantageous with a little alertness.