The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

Our style of communication with others has changed radically over the last twenty years. There is no other generation, which is as connected through social media websites as the current youth, also know as ‘Generation Z’. However, this is not just about the young ones. Quiet every person in the world talks or writes to someone via Internet. While many people are absolutely convinced about this enhancement some others are much more critical towards Instagram, WhatsApp and Co. So this essay should clarify both sides, and will weigh up the pros and cons at the end. Doubtless, the enormous popularity these social networks have, is an achievment due to the many advantages they have to the millions of users. Throug all these platforms communication with other people became easier than ever before. Just a few click and you are able to talk or chat with your friends all over the world, does not matter where they are. For instance, through Instagram or Snapchat ‘stories’ any kind of special experiences and even every day life situations can be shared immediately with all your friends and followers to get in contact. So you are able to held multiple conversations at the same time. Furthermore, there are many other features and information these websides offers. From recommondations of especially good restaurants to open discussions about international news, super stars posting pictures of their luxary lifestyle and job offers, almost everything is spread there. On the other hand, as it is in most cases, there is also another view to these social medias. At first, it should not be underestimated, that due to the huge number of users, these platforms gain a lot of power and influence in our life, for example by specialised addvertisments or information filters. Another aspect is the waste of time. Nowadays, most people spend several hours in front of screens scrolling through nonessential contributions, while they could have been productive like doing something for work, exercising some sports or just spending some minutes in the fresh air. As a result of this increasing virtual life, more people are feeling lonely despite they have hundreds of friends in the internet. This is why I am thinking real friendships and deep conversations cannot be replaced by social media actions. A face-to-face talk with mimic and gesture is of unpredictable worth to human relationships. In conclusion, Facebook and all the other platforms have great benefits, everyone is able to experience, especially at times of an epidemic, as it is actually the case. However, in my opinion, real human relationships, such as meeting friends or family actions are not replaceable through these virtual opportunities. Moreover, spending too much time in Internet has a bad influence into concentration as well as into your mental and body well-being. So as it is possible spend time with your loved ones in reality!