The internet has become central to our lives, as it provides more and more information, acts as interactive entertainment, and as a means of voting, etc. These functions have obvious benefits, but there are dangers involved in the control the Internet is exerting over our lives. .

Internet has become central to our lives in numerous ways. Nowadays, almost everything can be performed from the comfort of our home, for instance, E-commerce and e-banking. Despite the benefits offered, there are risks of using internet which can have adverse effects on society. To begin with, authenticity of data is one aspect to consider. Nowadays, inaccurate information can be spread through blogs and social media. As there is no physical source to verify, published information cannot be trusted completely. For example; in past few years, a few viral posts created political chaos in the form of riots and breakouts. Therefore, it is advisable to check relevant updates from authorised government websites. Another viewpoint is the uncontrolled supervision of internet by parents on their children. Many websites display adult content and child pornography to lure youngsters. It is an acceptable fact that children spend increasingly high screen time on their laptops and tablets, which causes health problems. Thus, parents should specify the hours of internet usage for minimal impact. Thirdly, the issue of cybercrimes has become critical. Many hackers hack personal details of end users for unethical practices. For example; there are malicious softwares which are sold for the purpose of virus protection, but in reality, they are corrupted programs themselves. Hence, the government should devise measures to control privacy issues. To sum up, information reliability, online data leakage and unhealthy content are major issues that are required to be tackled. The online web provides knowledge and entertainment, however the other side cannot be ignored. In my opinion, the purpose of using internet should be clear and guidance about right and wrong need to be provided.