The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment

Nowadays, as more consumer goods are manufactured, more damage has been inflicted to the environment. I will outline several solutions for this issue. First of all, the increase in the production of consumer products harms the environment in two ways: the chemical by-products from the manufacturing process and the mass production of disposable goods. As more goods are produced, more toxic wastes and emissions are released from factories into nature. Water sources are contaminated, and the air is severely polluted, which results in the deaths of many marine and terrestrial animals. Also, to accommodate customers’ ever-increasing demands, more single-use products are introduced, most of which are non-biodegradable. Though having a short lifespan, these products can remain as wastes for thousands of years, turning our planet into a huge landfill and posing a threat to the living habitats of all creatures. Actions must be taken as soon as possible to minimize the negative impacts on environment arising from the increasing amount of consumer goods. First, companies should promote the use of eco-friendlier materials. For example, the giant coffee chain Starbucks has recently replaced plastic straws with reusable alternatives made of materials like paper or bamboo. In addition, many governments are also encouraging the development of more sustainable manufacturing processes. In conclusion, governments and companies must join hands to make the production lines more environmentally friendly by switching to greener materials.