The increase in noise and air pollution has been a controversial issue for decades. One of the main causes is because of the growth in economical flights. It is thought that the political leaders should be responsible for declining air traffic by regulating the taxation. Personally, I agree with the suggestion but I also believe that the disadvantages do exist.

The increase in noise and air pollution has been a controversial issue for decades. One of the main causes is because of the growth in economical flights. It is thought that the political leaders should be responsible for declining air traffic by regulating the taxation. Personally, I agree with the suggestion but I also believe that the disadvantages do exist. On the one hand, taxing more heavily to reduce air traffic not only brings many benefits to local people but also the environment. First of all, if the number of tourists who only afford booking inexpensive plane tickets decrease, the amount of carbon dioxide will decline substantially. Because of this reason, the health of citizens will improve significantly and there will be a downward trend in the rate of patients lung and respiratory. The contaminant problems such as global warming or the phenomenon of melting ice at the two poles may happen slowly. Therefore, levying a higher tax on air traffic could be a great way to enhance both the habitat and health of inhabitants. On the other hand, it is obvious that the majority of low-priced plane tickets are paid by the middle or even the poor. Hence, when the price is too high, many of them will be unable to travel by plane. In this case, trains or private cars will be replaced choices and this will lead to economic fluctuations in the aerial industry. Moreover, tourists who plan to travel abroad may have to stay at home because the price is beyond their means. Consequently, those might be prevented from taking a trip overseas just because of the high cost and this would slow down cultural and economic exchanges between countries. Therefore, the government ought to change to another measure to solve the issue instead of increasing the tax. In conclusion, this essay agrees that taxing the air traffic more heavily is a beneficial way to protect the locals and make the environment better. However, I believe that this also brings huge disadvantages to the needy individuals and the global economy.