The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones?

To be true, people are now making excessive use of mobile phones for a multiple of reasons such as gaming, conducting business related work and, last but not the least, interacting with their loved ones. This phenomenon has some merits as well as few demerits associated with it. Let us elaborate both of them in the appended paragraphs with my own narrative at last. Firstly, amongst disadvantages, some people complain about deterioration in their eyesight while others are having posture problems and extra-ordinary stress on their backbones. A recent study on the topic of side effects of mobile usage conducted by the “Agha Khan Hospital” shows that 4 out of every 10 children in Pakistan, using excessive mobile phones, are facing with the loss of vision. Moreover, a similar research conducted by the “Haq Orthopedic Center” in Lahore reveals an increase number of backbone patients whose screen time is more than 5 hours per day on their cell phones. Now, if we look at the other side, we can observe that increased usage of smart phones is benefiting all stake holders: individuals and businesses a like, that is, it is saving both time and cost of both ends in more than one ways. Increased number of users and revenues of various e-commerce and social media platforms like Amazon and Facebook are the sheer examples of this reality. In conclusion, according to my view point, it would be befitting to say that problems associated with the excessive usage of mobile phones supersede its benefits because health is wealth and one cannot take advantage of their smart phones if he/she is not able to use it due to some eye or backbone related disease.