Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on both individuals and society as a whole.

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on both individuals and society as a whole. I agree with this statement, as although some benefits of social networks can be seen, the impact has been mainly harmful. With regards to individuals, the deleterious effect of social media is mainly caused by the amount of time wasted on it. People now choose to spend hours of their time viewing the lives of others, rather than participating in interests outside of the home. This is damaging due to the loneliness caused by lack of face to face contact, and the lack of self-worth created by the constant comparison of one’s own life to the lives of others. The negative effect on society in general can immediately be seen upon walking into any public space. Instead of communicating with each other, people stare at their phones. Consequently, the valuable connections that hold us together are not made, and society becomes increasingly fragmented. On the other hand, there are some positives. An example of this would be the Facebook groups that some local communities and streets have created, to share information. For example, if a pet becomes lost, the local group can be alerted immediately, and sightings reported. However, these groups have had more detrimental effects than beneficial. Bullying appears to be a recurring theme, and in fact many have left their groups rather than face the online rudeness of their neighbours. In conclusion, although social networks may make sharing information easier, this has led to individual isolation and a disjointed society.