The importance of sporting events in encouraging to exercise and other ways to encourage people to exercise?

The question of whether large sporting events such as the Olympics and the World Cup make nations more sporty or not has been widely debated in the media, since the cost of organising these events is putting a significant burden on the taxpayers. While these mega sports seem to be attractive in terms of bringing people's attention to sports, I feel that other methods of encouraging people to exercise are more effective in a pure econonomic sense. International events such as the Olympic Games are believed to attract people to sports which are not popular. Advocates of the Games claim that some sports have only one chance every four years to update their international status and survival of these sports exclusively depend on the Games. In addition, the people organising international sporting competitions justify the huge sums spent on them by saying that there is a positive link between these events and increased physical activity among general public. Statistics show that following mega sporting events there is always an increase in the take-up of new sports, but this change is often short-lived because the number of people engaged in sports fall back to previous levels soon after. In my opinion, other methods of motivating people to become more active is more effective. Rather than building mega stadiums and sporting compexes, which are rarely used after the mega events are held, the government is better off spending the funds to build small but practical sports centres close to residential areas. The availability of sports facilities in the neighbourhood has a positive impact on sports participation of local people. Another way to make people more sporty would be to create more educational programs dedicated to healthy lifestyle and its positives. Health and fitness TV programmes where experts speak about dangers of inactive living and positive aspects of some sports are perceived as chief authotity by many. These programs cost little or no money to the government but they have been proved very powerful in making people more active. In conclusion, the governments stand a better chance of encouraging the whole population to be more physically active if they allocate funds to improve sporting facilities and create more edutional fitness programs.