In recent years, young people in many countries choose to live by themselves. What are the reasons and is it a positive or negative development?

It has become increasingly common for young people to fly away from their parental nest and live on their own. There are several reasons for this and I believe it is an overall positive trend. The generation gap seems to be the primary reason why many young people are living away from their parents. Young people today can easily find that their values and behaviors are at odds with their parents, which can cause tensions and conflicts during everyday life, thus damaging the family relationships. It is therefore some young people choose to move out from their parents’ house and live on their own. For another, young people nowadays tend to be more ambitious than their previous generations did and they are attracted by the better employment opportunities and exciting lifestyles from large cities. As a result, most graduates migrate to major cities in search of more possibilities for their career and life. In my point, leaving family shelter should be viewed as a positive development. From a personal perspective, living by themselves has granted the younger population with opportunities to practice practical skills such as paying bills, cooking, house keeping, and socializing with friends. These skills are crucial for their future life once they enter the workplace. On a societal level, young people who equipped with such practical skills are more likely to be responsible and active social members. An increase in the number of such independent young people is beneficial to the economic growth because they serve as a productive working force for the country. To conclude, young people choose to live by themselves out of generational disparities and personal reason and this is a positive trend because it benefits both individual and the whole society.