MANY PEOPLE TODAY USE THEIR PHONES FOR SENDING TEXTS MORE THAN TALKING. WHAT ARE THE REASONS FOR THIS? ARE THERE MORE ADVANTAGES THAN DISADVANTAGES.

The invention of telephones through the means of modern technology advancement has influenced communication to a great length. For this, many are given to communicating to others by sending electronic short messages rather than verbal communications, with the use of their mobile phones. Those that practice this, have their cogent reasons. Will further elaborate on the cons and pros of this development. To begin with, text messages, when well composed, conveys the exact thought of the sender thereby leaving no room for misunderstanding. Hence, both parties engaged in the communication chain are on same page of the information passed across. Also, written messages are usually stored in the mobile phones of both the person sending as well as the one receiving it. This enables one to make references to messages sent previously. This is in contrast to talking, which sometimes fail to pass the exact message intended and cannot be recalled, except when recorded. On the one hand, many have argued that texting has greatly minimized the interpersonal relationships especially in the home fronts, whereby siblings are carried away with frequent exchange of information through electronic short messages rather than talking with one another, even whilst in same environment. On the other hand, some people believe that relating with other people through text messages is a time-saving approach. This stems from the fact that messages are easily conveyed and feedbacks received, within a very short space of time. This takes away the luxury of waiting for as long as it takes to pass on a message, especially when trying to engage people with tight schedules. It is also a convenient means of communicating. This has been proven effective in averting dangers. An example is historic event of 2001 in Bangkok, whereby a female gubernatorial aspirant, escaped near death situation because of a text she receiving fore warning her of the in coming danger. To conclude, people have found it more useful to send texts rather than speaking with other people, because of the compelling reasons that it is time saving and also convenient. This however, has it’s adverse effect mostly amongst family members. Nevertheless, written messages are efficient and timely.