The importance of academic subjects as compared to extracurricular activities is increasing every day. Some people suggest that sports classes should be sacrificed in High School so students can concentrate on Academic subjects.

We are living in a highly competent era where the importance of a good education is extremely high. This is the reason parents today motivate their children to pay more attention to academic subjects at school and not get involved in other extracurricular activities. It appears to be a valid move but it cannot diminish the importance of sports activity in the life of school going children. Sports classes must not be compromised because they are helpful in many ways. Firstly, they offer good physical exercise and psychological relaxation, both of which are vital for the physical and mental growth of students. Secondly, sports teach plenty of important skills like team work, communication, strategy development and so on. It is indeed difficult to cover such aspects of life under academic subjects. Finally, sports in school always help in identifying talented children. This is very important because spotting talent for sport at a tender age can result in the creation of a legend in years to come. On the other hand, some people argue that we should remove sports sessions because playing cannot help in improving academic performance of students. They also add that the economies of the world are growing in such a way that better academic degrees will be essential to survive and grow in the future. All in all, I admit that academics subjects are becoming very important these days, but it does not imply that we should remove sports classes from schools. Thus, I disagree with the statement because I firmly believe that we need healthy, sporty and energetic graduates to lead the future world.