1. Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. 2

Recruiting new employees can be a long and painful process. The success of any business or organisation depends on the quality of its staff. Some employers conduct interviews to select new workers. I disagree with the given statement, which says that interview is not a reliable method, and other methods are better. A number of arguments surround my opinion. There are many reasons why interview is a preferred method of selection of new employees. To begin with, interview is one of the only methods in which the recruiters can get an idea about the personality and social skills of the potential employees. In interviews, there is face-to-face interaction and the candidates have to answer impromptu questions, which leaves very little scope for hiding personality traits. Also employees can judge traits like ability to handle pressure, confidence and ability to think outside the box and so on by asking some case study type questions. To add to it, employers can check if the person is a right fit for the company on the social level by assessing his strengths, weaknesses, long term desires. Admittedly, interview is not the only method, and there are many other selection methods with varied advantages. One of other common methods is written test. This method is preferred when the focus in on judging the theoretical knowledge of the person. Another conventional selection basis is group discussion. This method is good where a major job requirement of the company is conversational skills for instance sales jobs. Sales personnel need to have good persuasion skills. Group discussion can determinc the convincing power of an individual. Last but not the least, there can be combination of the all, he three methods like written tests, followed by group discussion and finally interviews. This method is the most thorough of all the methods checking everything from personality traits to knowledge and also communication ability. is evident that different methods have different advantages and the best method cannot be singled out. It depends upon me situation. For example, interviews assess a person's individual traits better whereas written tests are more about knowledge and expertise in an area. There are shortcomings of every method too for example there is a chance of personal as in interviews. The combination of methods can take too long to select a candidate and may be too expensive to onduct for small companies conclude, I cannot agree that interview is not reliable method and other methods are better. It depends upon the job d company requirement, in some situations conducting interviews is more apt and in some situations the other methods ay be more advantageous.