The illustration describes the cutting tools of the Stone Age in 2 different periods which are 600 thousand years apart from each other.

The illustration describes the cutting tools of the Stone Age in 2 different periods which are 600 thousand years apart from each other. Overall, 3 views of both cutting tools are given in addition to the 5 cm mark for comparison. Tool A which was used 1. 4 million years ago had a roughly similar shape to a triangle from the front. The back of this tool was similar to its front measuring around 10 cm in length. Side view, however, shows that the cutting instrument was thinner than approximately 3 cm. Regarding the relatively developed cutting tool belonging to the period of 0. 8 million years ag0, it had a more complex shape. Its front view looks similar to a circle with the addition of a pointy edge which acts as a cutting part. Furthermore, the side view reveals that tool B is much thinner than tool A, having less than half of its width at the widest point. Finally, the back view is similar to the front view and has a length of around 10 cm as tool A.