essay of a green knight

Glorious Gracious Gallant Gawain Being an excellent knight in the 14th century certainly took a lot of effort. To properly fulfill your knightly duties, you had to be honourable, honest, courageous and loyal at all times. Sir Gawain is one of the noble men, who had to live up to these ideals. After accepting a challenge from a stranger in tribute to his king, he nearly got himself killed. And then he lived the rest of his life in shame. Sir Gawain did everything he could to life by the chivalry code. It was very brave of him to meet the Green Knight after a year and day, as he knew he would probably die. Sir Gawain felt ashamed, because he did not stick to his end of the bargain with the king. He clearly did not exchange everything that came his way during the last day of their deal. I think he is too hard on himself. Nor did he give the king the food he had for breakfast, or the clothes he wore that day. There is no problem with keeping the belt to himself. He also did not lie to the king or the green knight. Withholding information is not the same thing as lying. The green knight never said Gawain had to come to him unprepared and unprotected. Gawain just found a way to evade the beheading. A knight should not be punished for being clever and being brave enough to stand up for himself. All things considered, I think Sir Gawain had no reason to feel embarrassed. He lived his life in honour, honesty, valour and loyalty as good as he could. Instead, he should have been proud of himself for the glorious gracious and gallant knight he was.