THE GROWTH OF ONLINE SHOPPING WILL ONE DAY LEAD TO ALL SHOPS IN TOWNS & CITIES CLOSING.

E-Commerce industry is currently the most blooming industry in business. With advancement in ecommerce we all have witnessed that there is a drastic shift of consumers from offline buying to online buying. I would totally agree with this fact that the day is not far when this sector will develop so much that it will eradicate all local shops and service centres. As per recent survey conducted by one of the leading market research firm it was concluded that around 65% of purchases were made online last year. This is evidence that reflects a drastic change in consumer behaviour & buying pattern. In recent times, focus of customers is more inclined towards ease and comfortless buyinig. Customers prefer buying products and services without stepping out of their home. Also currently IT sector is growing so rapidly that with just a click of button we can see features, price, colours & quality of product however describing same thing offline consume time and manpower and also can lead to confusions. If we compare advantages of online and offline buying, one of the major advantage will be getting reviews globally from users of that product. Also I would say COVID-19 is cherry on the cake for Ecommerce industry. Due to Social distancing norms & fear of COVID people are gradually moving towards online buying. Before COVID, younger population were involved much in online shopping but with COVID becoming our new life, customer base of ecommerce industry have increased & older generation is also now getting attracted towards buying online as it is safer. There are two basic pillars of Ecommerce industry which are IT & Logistics and with advancements in IT industry & strengthening of Logistics infrastructure online shopping would be the new normal. In turn we won't be seeing any local shops in cities and towns due to no demand or due to minimal demand. Maintaining shops involve various expenses such as rent, electricity, maintenance etc. and with decrease in demand it will be difficult for shopkeepers to earn profits hence resulting in shutting down. Also as we know that drones have entered in the market and this will be used by Ecommerce industry as their competitive advantage. This will convert standard delivery time from days to hours & minutes. Hence people will prefer to buy products in one click and getting it delivered at their doorstep. To conclude, I would say that shops are at verge of extension as per current industrial scenario. It's important that we protect our local shopkeepers by instead of shifting totally on online buying, we give preference to offline buying also purchase of daily use products.