The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

The convenience of shopping online has made it possible for people to obtain a wide variety of items ranging from daily needs to inessential ones. However, this development has sparked a thought that physical stores in urban and rural areas will all shut down as a result. Personally, I believe that online shopping can never replace the greater ease offered by physical stores. Therefore, I have to disagree completely with the given statement. To begin with, nothing quite beats buying things at traditional retailers in towns and cities as they provide accessibility to any customers for their immediate shopping needs. With just a few minutes away to reach these local stores, on-the-go shoppers can instantly make purchases for items of urgent needs, such as medicines, food or cooking essentials. This is clearly absent in online shopping when people has to wait for days for their items to get delivered, which most of the times, entails unnecessary burden especially if the product ordered arrived late or came in faulty condition. Additionally, the dawn of the internet brings forth an era of digital frauds which is another setback of shopping online. Sadly, it is not trustworthy to make online transaction particularly if a non credible website is used for such as it invites a host of cyber criminals looking to take advantage of users’ naivety. Not only financially, but also issues of counterfeit products as buyers are not able to personally inspect the quality of the items being purchased. This problem is largely eliminated if people opt to shop at local stores near their vicinity, which further fuels the idea that they will never close. To conclude, although online shopping has become very popular these days, retail stores will not be much affected by it because of their greater accessibility towards items that are needed in urgency and also the decrease risk of a customer being deceived or cheated. However, in order to minimize the impact that may arise due to the popularity of online shops, it is suggested that the local retail establishments should ensure the maximum efficiency of their customer service so that more and more people will be inclined to shop with them.