Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that living in a foreign country not only cause social problems but also practical problems. Although they can learn the language, it would be time consuming, and till then it can cause severe issues like misunderstandings. Therefore, I opine that language barrier can be a serious problem in a new nation. To begin with, there are a myriad of causes due to language barrier. The primary cause is to socialize with people. When living in a foreign country, connecting and making new friends or to be in relationship can be troublesome as not knowing the language. This can lead to mental health problem such as depression because of loneliness. Secondly, understanding the cultural diversity can be difficult, resulting in misconceptions amongst the people, which will eventually lead to crises. For instance, in hospital understanding the doctor can be problematic, and thus, can take false medicines. Furthermore, either doing the job can be burdensome or the person have to be unemployed. Therefore, not knowing the language can cause social as well as practical problems. On the contrary, language barrier can be solved at some extent. First and foremost is that the technology has alleviated much of the practical problems. For example, due to advancement in technology, to reach a particular destination application like Google Maps can be used. Besides, to connect with people "Translator" applications can be effective. Moreover, even the language can be learnt to increase the knowledge and then can speak freely. Thus, at some point living in a foreign country can be beneficial and language barrier cannot be an issue. To sum up, living in another nation and communicating with citizens can be challenging, but it can be taken care due to availability of technology.