To meet the growing need for food by an increasing population, a country should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that such foods are not only unhealthy but affect the nature too. Discuss both the view points and give your own opinion.

The steady growth of population since many decades has triggered the unexpected demand of food in the world. Some groups of people believe that genetically engineered foods is the only option while other groups of people are against it. In the course of this essay, we will discuss both the view points and my stand towards later argument. One of the vital reason why genetically processed foods are feeding the global population without any shortage is because of its rapid production phenomenon by maintaining the original taste. Compared to naturally grown foods in farmlands, genetically engineered foods become ready to eat in short span of time. This means it can keep up with the pace of population growth without hiccups. For instance, in the Asian continents where two-third of world population resides, they practises this kind of approach in order to feed their millions of people. However, this type of activity is not only detrimental to the health of people, but it can also damage the land for farming by inducing the genetic seeds directly. In organic farming, the fruit and vegetables grown are totally dependent on the fertile soil. By adding the genes of food with this soil can disrupt the fertility of producing the healthy seeds. This results into occurence of low-level nutritional value plants that produces the vegetables and fruits. On the other hand, it also pollute the land for irrigation at certain extent that the soil becomes gradually infertile. For example, in Canada, the government has imposed restrictions to this type of farming and a person can be penalised upto 5 years of jail if proved guilty. To sum up, it is obvious that genetically engineered foods is the only source for most of the nations to feed their people at present, it comes with various negative effects to the health of people and land both. In my opinion, this type of practises should be avoided sooner or later, owing to the fact of rising pollution levels.