The Growth Of Online Shopping Will Lead To The Closure Of Shops In Cities And Towns

Over the past decade, the e-commerce space has grown by leaps and bounds albeit regulations and restrictions. Although, for many, the growth in this industry has been encouraging, there are few sections who have raised their concerns that the growth is coming at the expense of local shops. Some of these critics of online shopping have gone one step further to suggest that it is going to hit the final nail in the coffin for local shops in the foreseeable future. While the concerns have a valid basis, to me personally, it is a far-fetched thinking and I believe online and offline shopping are here to stay together. When it comes to consumer behaviour, the phenomenon of online vs. offline shopping can be compared to the entertainment industry where people have an option to stream content online or to watch it in a physical theatrical setting. Despite the comfort and convenience online streaming offers, people still have equally enjoyed consuming the content offline too. If we can draw parallels between the entertainment industry and online shopping, historical trends clearly suggest that both the channels are here to stay. Keeping aside the historical trends, if we closely observe both the offline and online channels, we can clearly see that they do complement each other in more ways than one. While online mode brings the convenience to browse through variety, offline has an upper hand in terms of instant delivery and last-mile connectivity. For these reasons, once the dust settles on this debate, I believe, we will find these two channels consolidating and cooperating with each other instead of competing one another. In the times to come, I won’t be surprised if the local shops and e-commerce giants partner in delivering the best experience to the customer in tandem. To conclude, even though online shopping seems to be cannibalizing the local shopping industry, I clearly see a future where both these channels would realize the synergies and operate in a symbiotic environment, offering the best of both the worlds to their customers.