The growth of online shopping has greatly improved life for the consumer

In recent years, the global expansion of the Internet access has led to an increase of e-commerce sales. Furthermore, the current pandemic lockdown has boosted this trend dramatically. The advantages of online shopping are numerous, but is it all that glitters gold? On the one hand, online shopping can be an excellent resource for those looking to expand their buying options: all sorts of items are available for purchase, no matter how specific or strange they may seem. In addition, a great deal of time and money can be saved, as no transport or queuing in shops is needed and prices can easily be compared among the different websites, making the most of one’s budget. Besides, the Internet provides a 24-hour 7 days per week marketplace, in contrast with traditional shops’ opening hours, which comes in very handy in today’s stressful and hectic lifestyle. But on the other hand, the downsides of this modern way of acquiring goods are not to be ignored. For instance, when it comes to consumer satisfaction, many buyers agree that not having the opportunity to try the products in advance is an important drawback, as they often do not come up to their expectations. Moreover, it is important to highlight the environmental damage that this worldwide trading system implies, as merchandise is being delivered from one end of the world to another. But perhaps the most worrying consequence of buying online is the devastation of small local businesses, which fail to compete with the omnipresent e-commerce giants -namely Amazon and Aliexpress. On the whole, it seems that 21st century consumers will increasingly use these online stores, as they value convenience above all. However, it will be crucial to promote social and environmental awareness, in order to reduce the worst side effects of current consumerism.