The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum.

Nowadays, people are living more of a sedentary lifestyle, which has lead to increasing number of health problems; consequently, a lot of pressure is being given on the health care system. Some people believes that incorporating and emphassising physical exercises into school cirricullum will resolve the problem at hand. I agree with the aforementioned statement due the reasons discussed in the essay. Embarking upon the first cause of agreement, it would be good to make children aware of the downside of not being fit. To mull over, teaching pupils at young age about the problems associated with health if not taken care, will make them understand its necessity. Furthermore, they can be taught about the related issues one may face such as monetory problems. Hence, they would be participating in excerises themselves. For example, an articile in the Time states that it has been proven that informing someone of negative effects can lead them to better path with 30% success then telling them the benefits. Looking into another reason to be on the same side, children attend school almost everyday for nearly 12 years of their life. Also, this is the age when we develop habits easily and our bodies are quite healthy at this stage of our lives. Although some pupils may not acquire this habit, they would be getting their daily share of exercise in classes. A salient example would be, according to a survey in 2004, addition of physical education in the educational structures in 2000, in New Delhi, had lead to 40% more active students. In a way of conclusion, addition of physical education can help resolve the issues we are facing currently, albeit slowly in a long run, as the future generation will understand the importance of health and may develop a routine of doing yoga or something related daily.