The greatest leaders are born, not made

Certain people are born with characteristics that make them natural leaders. Intelligence, drive and an outgoing personality are early indicators of potential success as a leader. However, it is also true that good leadership skills can be acquired by self-determination of a person. In my opinion, good leadership is a combination of both natural abilities and persistent practice. Those who believe that leaders are “God Gifted” might argue that natural leaders possess the social intelligence and charisma that motivates others to work together and make great changes. Some theories support for this idea are Great Man theory and Trait theories. These theories believe that people inherit certain qualities and traits that make them better suited to leadership. In fact, some major personality studies find that these traits are mostly determined by heredity, the same as certain talents that are inborn. However, research has shown that personality is more flexible than many of people believe and traits of a leader varied considerably in different situations. In other words, leaders come by their talents partly through genetics but mostly through hard work and persistence. Furthermore, people such as Nelson Mandela, demonstrated remarkable leadership qualities including advocacy for peace, mental power, high level of forgiveness and certain charisma that allows them to motivate and inspire the public with action, and this particular trait is also believed to be innate. Nevertheless, many people have shown that leaders are mostly made. To expect a person to be born a fully rounded, complete leader does not make sense. The ability to effectively lead, motivate and direct a group of people requires a complex set of skills which are mostly acquired through experiences, self development as well as access to subsequent training. Leadership And Learning Are Indispensable To Each Other. The skill of leadership is no science, but an art, which is perfected over some time through continuous learning. Furthermore, the credibility of a true leader is built on his self-confidence and mastery of his area of expertise which only emerge after a great deal of time and experience. In conclusion, the skills and attributes of a good leader are both genetic and enhanced through training, experience and a lot of persistent hard work. Leaders, with or without natural leadership skills, have many things in common but the most important one is that they want to be in charge; become leaders and not followers. They all have a vision and need to have a strong belief in their leadership ability. In addition, leaders set goals that help them achieve their vision.