advantages and disadvantage of mass media

As many people know, mass media is becoming one of the most important roles in our daily life and society. Mass media affects almost every part of life, especially in industrialized countries. It includes television, newspaper, magazines or the internet, etc. . So we can see that mass media brings us various advantages. First of all, it helps us to learn more about the world and to know and see many new things. Moreover, mass media contributes to the world’s togetherness. It helps people to understand each other and appreciate their differences. For example, through the Cultural Journey TV show, we can discover the culture, tradition, food of many Asian countries namely VietNam, China, Japan, Korea. Secondly, it is mass media that has helped people organize their activities in a scientific and successful way. As an illustration, only when we follow the weather forecast on the radio or the television every day, can we bring an umbrella and avoid getting wet. Another pro is mass media connects people around the world and shares information quickly. This is exemplified that we can strike up a friendship via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. On the other hand, mass media is not entirely beneficial, it also has some drawbacks. When people spend much time on the mass media, they cannot be active in their outdoor activities such as playing sports or jogging. In addition, cyber of bullying not only causes damage to people but also affects our spiritual life. It threatens and hurts everyone. To sum up, the world has become a better place as a result of mass media, but we must not dismiss the bad impacts of it. It is up to each individual to decide the appropriate boundaries for using mass media to make a better society.