The government spends about £220 million a year supporting museums and galleries in the UK, and a similar amount subsidising the visual and performing arts. This is a huge sum to spend on minority interests, and the money would be better spent on more important things. It should be up to the people who enjoy cultural attractions to pay for them. What are your views?

Many people would disagree that UK government use an excessive amount of money on arts and culture, but I strongly agree that the government should pay for on cultural expenditure. To begin with, cultural industry boosts the tourism and economy. Learning new culture is one of the important reasons for people to travel. It is very important to show the best image to visitors. So, the government should take the responsibility to pay for it and it is worth spending. In fact, Tourists are not only spending on visiting places, and they are also spending on food, accommodation and transportation. As a result, it improves government revenues. It also creates many job opportunities for the country. British museum is a successful example. It is a well-known museum in London and attracts millions of visitors every year. It is also the landmark of London. Therefore, it brings positive impacts to the whole country. Alternatively, some people think that the government spend too much on cultural industry and it is a small group of people. They believe that people should pay more if they are interest on it. However, culture is a part of national identity. Everyone has equal opportunity to know it. If it is costly on entrance fee and tickets, people will lose the opportunity to learn it. Moreover, many organisations cannot operate as they do not have enough fund. Consequently, some culture may disappear and it cannot appear again. Hence, it is necessary for the government to support the industry. To conclude with, although the expenditure is massive on cultural industry, it is worth for the government to pay for it. It helps the economy and preserve national identity.