The government should spend money in promoting sports and art in school, rather than sponsoring professional sports and art events in communities.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the improvement of athletic and artistic pursuits. However, whether the government should sponsor these events in schools or in communities is a controversial issue. My view is that authorities shall give priority to investment in schooling. Firstly, it is obvious that sports and art comprise a significant part of education on campus. By participating in these courses and activities, young students can enhance their physical fitness and aesthetic appreciation, which are indispensable for their all-round growth. In contrast, professional athletics and art are usually regarded as pastimes by most citizens. Therefore, the funds should be allocated to the side that has a more profound positive impact on individuals. Moreover, the artistic and athletic development in schools relies on grants to a greater extent than that in societies. This is because most public educational institutes are non-profit. It is almost impossible for them to build cultural and sports facilities without external financial supporting, which the government undoubtedly play the most important role in. By comparison, professional art and sports can make money on their own, such as selling tickets and charging advertising fees. So governmental investment is not their only source of income. This is not to say that occupational artists and athletes are not worth taxpayer's money at all. Indeed, a wide variety of professional sports and other recreational activities can add some spice to our lives. But funds should only be spent on these things after the more basic and fundamental needs of education have been met. In sum, sports and art in schools take priority over that in communities, which call for more economic aids from the government. Meanwhile, we should not ignore fund professional sports and art where possible. Only by doing so, can we better enjoy these activities.