The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country development and progress.

It is believed that governments budgets should be spent on providig the knowledge of science subjects to help their country develop. While I accept that an increase developments can have many benefits to nation progress, I disagree that science is the primary priority. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why it can be argued that putting an emphasis on teaching science-based subjects significantly contributes to the well-being of a country. The first reason is that a lot of scientific breakthroughs heavily depend on a tremendous number of research which involves knowledge in mathematics, physics and chemistry. However, gaining a successful reseach means having to go through a lot of previous failed studies, which requires a wealth of money to invest for laboratory equipment and scientific document. Another reason is that studying science subjects require learner’s sensible thinking and problem-solving skills, which is likely to promote their imagination and creativity. Such capabilities are of paramount importance to coming up with technological innovations, and these advancements could help a country to gain a competitive edge over other countries. On the other hand, it can be seen that the study of many other disciplines of education can also attribute to a countries progress. Firstly, in the era of globalisation, international trade plays a pivotal role in the economy of any countries and those trade activities could not be taken place if language barriers still exit. Therefore, common and universal languages should be encouraged to be taught in schools so that school leavers and graduates could have more opportunities to work in multinational enterprises. Secondly, subjects such as geography and biology equip students with knowledge or natural habitats and species, which could help them to be aware of the importance of environmentally sustainable development. It becomes clear that the growth of a country would stop and even decline if its wildlife species became extinct and natural resources were exhausted. In conclusion, although I acknowledge that the government allocating resources to teaching science subjects helps a country progress, I believe that it is also necessary for other subject to be taught.