The government should invest in the arts.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate on the merits of governments’ investment in arts and it can be argued that they should prioritize public services rather than wasting money on arts. This essay will discuss why I absolutely disagree with the proposition. To begin with, it is sometimes thought by some that governments waste residents’ money on arts. To illustrate this point, they mention that it is more important for people to meet their basic needs over luxury things such as music, theatre and other sorts of arts. This is due to the fact that arts is considered an extortionate recreational activity that a majority of average-income owners cannot afford to pay and can only spend money sufficiently on essential things such as healthcare services and education. Nevertheless, more importantly I suppose the main reason why the government should invest in the arts is because the arts play a vital role in the economic sector and work. This means that if governments’ budget was not invested in arts, numerous artists would lose their job as many of them work based on authorities’ fund; moreover, arts can boost an economy in the field of tourism by attracting both international and domestic travellers through differents kinds of exhibitions and other artistic leisures. A secondary reason why investment in arts should not be considered as a waste of money is because arts create cultural identities. An obvious explanation for this is that arts of a country are a part of its culture and are imbued with its ideologies and beliefs, therefore, arts are cultural heritage and the best expression of a country’s spirit. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the statement for above-mentioned reasons. As far as I am concerned, individuals should take sensible measures to maintain the situation positively.