The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms.

The matter that whether or not smoking should be allowed in public places is a contentious one. While many support the idea that it should be strictly prohibited in public places, others, however, argue that doing so will limit people's freedom. I agree with the former and am presenting arguments in support of the same. First of all, somebody smoking in the presence of other people makes them passive smokers. In other words, the person who does not even like to smoke ends up inhaling the smoke, just because he/she is standing near to someone, who is smoking. This situation can get even worse if someone, already having health complications, for example; a senior citizen is one who is becoming a passive smoker. Henceforth, if smoking is banned in public places, such scenarios can be avoided. Secondly, smoking is not a necessity, So if it is prohibited from places that are shared by the public, smokers would still have the liberty to smoke in their private places. As a matter of fact, non-smokers are the ones whose freedom is compromised more if somebody is smoking in a public place. For example, I am a non-smoker and it is so annoying when someone passes you, exhaling smoke on you. Therefore, smoking should be restricted to private places. To conclude, besides all the health consequences that smoking brings to smokers, it can have a similar impact on passive smokers too; Henceforth, authorities should impose strict laws to prevent people from smoking the public places.