Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood.

learning at least one foreign language has become a necessity in the modern world. Although some people believe that one can easily acquire a new language after extensive learning, others claim that age also plays a considerable role in foreign language acquisition. Indeed, it is much easier for children and teenagers to master a new language than it is for adults and especially elderly people. To begin with, younger individuals tend to be fast learners due to their developing acquisition skills. Most children and teenagers are used to learning new things, which make mastering a new language as easy as a piece of pie. For instance, toddlers are able to pick up a new language if their parents interact with them using this particular language. However, adults are unlikely to learn a foreign language in the same way. Then again, adults are too busy at work and have to worry about supporting their family, which certainly distracts them from the process of learning. A good illustration of this case will be evening language courses. Tired after work, adults are not able to make the most of their lessons and thus, cannot learn effectively. Younger people, in their turn, spend a lot of time studying and possess a range of skills to help them improve their foreign language. Undoubtedly, there are individuals who are so talented that they can learn a new language at any age. However, one has to remember that such people are often a rare exception rather than a common fact. Research shows that the brain pattern of a child is in better condition to accept new things that the brain pattern of an average adult. This gives a competitive advantage to the curious young people to learn new things easily than the adults. The trends of quickly learning how to operate a computer by younger people are much more efficient than the learning process of an elderly people and this is true for learning a new language as well. To conclude, learning a foreign language is a challenge for most people. However, younger people have better chances to speak a new language faster compared to those who are over thirty.