Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The amount of rubbish and waste being produced by humans is increasing rapidly. It is a common problem that the whole world is facing right now. Appropriate measures and steps must be undertaken before things become uncontrollable. It is a known fact that with increase in population and industrialization the amount of waste churned out has also been growing enormously. The increase in consumption of packaged food products is one reason that has led to the growth in the amount of rubbish produced. Secondly the popularity of plastic products in the last couple of decades has also contributed to this menace of growing waste. Plastic products cannot be recycled and they are usually dumped near the sea shores which has also taken a huge toll on the marine life. Moreover it is also noticed these days in some overcrowded cities the rubbish is usually disposed on dumping grounds in the middle of residential areas. It is huge thing of concern, because it poses serious threat to people’s health as it can become the reason for multiplying germs and diseases. Industrial waste is another reason that has led to increase in water pollution. I believe this is a critical time and government and higher authorities should start taking corrective actions and measures immediately. Firstly government should ban the use of plastic products everywhere and should encourage the use of products which can be recycled. Furthermore government should impose a limit on the supply and use of paper products such as paper tissues and people should be urged to use resources like sanitizers and water for maintaining hygiene. Paper should be preserved and must be used judiciously. Secondly government should encourage the industries to apply recycling mechanism to their industrial process to control the amount of residual waste produced. Lastly public awareness must be increased by organizing campaigns and meetings to urge people to be more responsible about this issue. To conclude we can say that growth of waste and rubbish is now a global problem so every individual and world governing bodies should be responsible and act immediately to put a check on it.