The Global UGRAD Program is for young leaders committed to serving their home communities. Why would you be a great participant in the Global UGRAD Program?

When lonely souls want to shout out loud, who will be there to listen to them? In the early years of my life, the world surrounding me was not a place where my words should be come out. I was raised up in a nuclear family in the South of Vietnam but personally, it is not a perfect family. Even though everybody saying that being an only child is a blessing, but it is just a tip of the iceberg. I could feel the words stuck in my throat when I saw my parents arguing for the smallest things and the hopelessness of bonding the family together. Eventually, they broke up and my misery accumulated for a long period of time until I turn into a depressed child. All that I want to have in that period is to be heard. when I turned 18, I got the chance to live the life that I wanted. I went to Tra Vinh university but I still living with my father since I moved here to learn. I think to myself that I had enough of this situation so I tried to become the change that I want to see in my life. By being a tarot reader, I then with 78 cards seeking out to help people who were in dilemma situation and reaching to what I initiated desire. I used tarot as a tool to create a safe space for those who want to be heard rather than the voodoo stuff that can predict a person's life. In 6 months after I began to be a tarot reader, I had chances to lit up the light in others' souls. I had reached plenty of people who were at their worst and made them feel better. The things that I contributed to their life was not too big, but I believe that their life can turn to a new page and become stronger after crossing my path. They had shared that if I was not there, they would be overwhelmed by their vague emotional realm because they just want a person to understand them. I believed that humans are born with two ears and one mouth in order to speak less and listen more. with that in mind, I would like to build a world where there are listeners for those in need. in my sophomore year, I started with participating English club in my school to make the change happens. I actively took the lead role in the club's teamwork so that i can encourage my peers to share their sorrows. In addition, when it came to the bonding part, i was able to be the connection between the group members, attach their mind together and gather them as a family. By understanding each individual point of view, I then discovered my own value. Which then become one of my motivations, to make the world listen to me, I will be the ear that this world need. My childhood was not perfect as children always dreamed about. Hence, I understood the sorrowful **condition** and I want to make the world a better place for those who suffering the unfortunate circumstance like me. I wish when I face my rock bottom, someone can be there to keep me up. I wish when my mind is numb, there is somebody who gives me a hand. I wish the world had more links to connect to my past self, to help people not feel like this is their dead end. So, I will make the most out of myself to bring this prospect into reality to help those in need and let their voice be heard.