The future of work: is your job safe?

1) Please resume in one paragraph the main points of the video. In “The future of work: is your job safe? ”, the Economist, start by defining what a Digital Nomad means, and how this new workstyle gets the gig-economy’s attention, and how it became a spotlight for a lot of workers in developing economies. By giving us some real examples, the Economist, has succeeded to show us how the Digital Nomad, can be an effective way to bolster the economy especially if reduced tourism revenue has led to a loss of income. But in the other side of the world - in developed economies - the workers have a completely different POV of the Digital Nomad. In the part before the last of the video, the Narrator, moved to talk about surveillance technology in the workplace, and how a firm in Boston use what they call a “Humanyze sociometric badge” to analyze, and to monitor every move and every conversation the employees had. To end the video by talking about the greater threat of the workforce of the future, Robots and AI. 2) Do you agree that technology is transforming work? Why or why not? Please provide examples. Nowadays, the continuous development of modern technology affects many aspects of our lives. For instance, we travel using cars or airplanes, we communicate using phones or using social media, and we even build smart houses using machines and modern tools. As a result, some will agree that technology makes our lives a lot easier and comfortable. Personally, and despite the benefits that it brings, I believe that this development is less beneficial to human society especially on how it affects human productivity in terms of work. 3) Do you think that being a Digital Nomad today is accessible to everyone in every socio-economic class? Do you think that a Digital Nomad is possible for residents of developing economies (countries)? Why or why not? Yes, I think that being a Digital Nomad today is accessible to everyone, Let’s take Joseph for example, young man from Kibera, Kenya, Africa's largest slum. Despite all the economies’ problems that this country has, this young man has succeeded to find a way out of poverty. On average, digital nomads are economically stable, and they can ensure this through there visa requirements. The average annual earnings of nomads at between $50, 000 – 100, 000. This can be an effective way to bolster the economy especially if reduced tourism revenue has led to a loss of income. 4) Please comment on outsourcing. Is it ethical? Does it provide opportunities for individuals in poorer countries? Many businesses use outsourcing to: • Reduce costs • Focus on their core business • Resolve capacity issues • Enhance service quality Businesses alike use outsourcing as a means to get added expertise and exploit the cost of labor advantages. This is an ethical area as it covers a lot of grey areas, and with the rise of globalization, outsourcing is put in the spotlight.