Is government responsible for the rise in obesity in children.

One of the major concern of todays parents is increasing obesity in children. It is a big topic of the debate whether the governement is held responsible for this rise in obesity or not. In my view, government plays a crucial role in the sharply growing obesity in children. In my view lack of strict regulations on junk food advertisement is one of the reason for increase in obesity. As children are easily swayed by these advertisements & tend to eat such unhealthy foods only, make them fatter day by day. For example enticing advertisements of junk foods have a strong affect on children mind. If government bodies control these advertisements, our children can be protected. Another critical reason which is responsible for increasing weight of children is lack of regulation on portion size offered by the unhealty food joints. Due to the large portion size children are tend to eat more unhealthy unsaturated fat, bad carbohydrates and extra sucrose which make them obese. For example soft drinks offered by most fast food chains does not come in a smaller size, hence children get the habit of drinking larger quantity. If governement regulates the portion sizes offered by these food chains, there is a possiblity the increasing wieght of children can reduce. It can be concluded that governement plays a very vital role in controling the health of nations next generation. To protect our children from obesity it is very important that the policies should be made considering the health of the children.