The funding for the arts and the value of the arts to society

People have differing opinions regarding governments spending significant amount of money on the arts. Furthermore, everybody has conflicting ideas about where this money should be spent. . The arts in its varied forms (i. e. acting, dancing, painting, writing and so on) not only economically contribute to society but more importantly contribute significantly to the betterment of humans and our overall well-being. The participation in artistic pursuits assist people to learn and continue to expand their abilities and hone their skills in the areas they choose. This ensures that we develop a group of people who are experts and differentiated from society. If artistic pursuit didn’t take place in our lives today, then every person would be same. The pursuit of excellence helps people develop their own individuality thus differentiating us as a society. If governments can reserve enough funds for the arts and support artists, people would feel be more motivated and comfortable about exploring their talents and improving them. For instance, instruments are really expensive, spending money on supporting artists and performers would ensure that our artistic community continue to be creative in the pursuits of their choice. . Arts also play a big part in education too. Education is not just about the ordinary lessons we take in school, not all the students have to be successful at the common subjects. Students can be accomplished in the varied forms of the arts too. With government support the arts can be promoted in schools thus helping each student to comfortably chase their dreams. Society without creativity is empty. Of course money should be allocated to causes such as charitable institutions and other needy areas but the funding for the arts should be separated from the other budgets and continue to be rewarded. In conclusion, even though it is believed by many that the government is wasting money on the arts, art represents the heart of a society and as such it needs to be supported.