The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell. " Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, n

The argument of mayor of the town of Hopewell seems plausible but meticulous analysis makes the argument specious. The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and unsubstantiated conclusion. Following three questions must be answered in order to strengthen the argument. Firstly, what are the causes behind the increment of the tourism in ocean view? The argument does not provide any information regarding the cause of the tourism increment and also states that new business have opened there. Might be the tourists are related to the business and not related to the golf course. This assumption weaken the argument. Secondly, is the Ocean View's tax revenue increment by 30 percent related to the golf course? The argument does not state anything as such and may the percentage of tax levied was increased and as a result the revenue from tax also increased. The argument is based on the speculation that the golf course built two years ago resulted the rise in revenue by 30 percent but could not provide any plausible facts for the assumptions. Finally, is the Hopewell's economy similar to the Ocean view? The mayor have compared the Hopewell's economy with the Ocean view economy without enough information regarding the similarity between them. May the Hopewell's economy is far different from that of Ocean View and building golf course and resort hotel is completely not related with Hopewell's economy. In conclusion, the argument of the Mayor is fallacious and to strengthen the argument rigorous study must be done regarding the Ocean view's economy and Hopewell's economy. Above three questions must be mandatorily answered in order to bolster the mayor's argument instead of the unwarranted speculations.