The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

Reducing water consumption is a good way to ensure proper savings for every community. The author states that he predicts an increase in profits if showerheads are modified in all the buildings. At the first glance, it seems quite obvious that the prediction can be true. However, the argument is rife with numerous yawning lacunae ang glaring fallacies and thus fails to make a cogent case for favoring the author’s prediction. There are predominantly three questions that needs to be answered by the author to ensure that his claim is reasonable. Firstly, the author needs to clarify if showerheads are the primary reason for additional costs on water. There are many activities like gardening, house cleaning, washing utensils and clothes that need high levels of water. So, the author has to answer if showerheads use water higher than all these other activities. It can be possible that gardening consumes more than 50% of water and the water through showerheads is just 5%. In this case, it would be impractical to act on replacing showerheads as the consumption is quite low already. If the above assumption is true, the author’s claim will remain baseless. Continuing with the previous assumption, the author needs to confirm his claim by comparing the current reading with the previous readings, because if there is no change in the readings between the two months, it would be a waste of additional resources for modifying other showerheads in the remaining buildings. So, it is essential to compare the readings and act accordingly. Another claim that the author makes is that the cost of water might surely decrease this month. However, he fails to mention the changes in the cost of water in the previous months. It is possible that the cost of water has increased drastically in the past month, and in this case, no savings can be seen for sure. If the price of water decreases, then there is no need to spend additional amounts on modifying the showerheads, as it would result in additional expenses for the community. So, unless the author answers about the cost of water in the given months, his claim cannot be justified. Even if showerheads are put, it is not given that people use it often, people can use buckets or other containers for bathing. Then theres no use The key takeaway that author mainly assumes is that all the people use showerheads daily. However, he hasn’t mentioned about the usage of showerheads in the letter. It might have been the case that people in the community preferred anything but showerheads as part of their daily activities, and if it is so, the author’s prediction surely gets ruled out. The people can use buckets or tubs for bath, and it can be possible that they never used the showerheads because of the low-pressure of water in the community. So, the author needs to answer if most of the people in the community use showerheads daily. In summation, after examining various possibilities and examining the bases of the claims made by the author, I would like to state that although the author’s prediction might seem convincing at the first glance, it is not persuasive enough for the people in the community to accept modifying their showerheads.