Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. How important is letter-writing?

The last few years have witnessed the increasing use of mobile phones and computers as a communication tool. Consequently, some pupil even think traditional letters are not significant any more, and will disappear in our life eventually. Personally, I do not agree with the opinion. To start with, as long as they connected with internet, we can use mobile phones and computers to contact with our family members and friends anywhere and at any time. Besides, compared with letters, using computers or smart phones to write and send emails is much quicker. Emails can reach the recipients almost right after we click the mouse button, while it take a few days for letters to be delivered. Additionally, latest development of information technology offers many powerful functions making communication over internet more enjoyable and pleasant. For instance, Video call software allows us to watch the other person or a group of people while taking to them enhancing the communication experience a great deal. Nevertheless, traditional letters still have important role to play, although electronic devices leads the way forward in people’s daily contact with their dear ones. Firstly, for any service related to the Government like Electricity, water connection and pension related issues, the applicant has to submit a letter mentioning the relevant details and the same will be acknowledged by the concern department for future references. Secondly, at some important events or occasions, sharing the hand written messages with our loved ones make them happier and thus, they will be cherished as a memories for a lift time. In conclusion, mobile phones and computers will continue to be main means of communication, because of their convenience and efficiency. However, I believe traditional skill of letter writing is still important, as traditional letters are preferable in some special occasions.