Some people argue that universities should only offer courses to the top students, others contend that people of all ages should be given the opportunity to access tertiary education. Personally, I concur with the latter view due to the following justification.

Some people argue that universities should only offer courses to the top students, others contend that people of all ages should be given the opportunity to access tertiary education. Personally, I concur with the latter view due to the following justification. On the one hand, it is argued by some that universities only give priority to students with high scores. Firstly, good academic results can reflect students' learning ability. Top students are often smart and hardworking so they have the ability to absorb lessons well and master skills that help them effectively handle the workload and pressures of university. As a result, students with high scores deserve to be admitted to higher education. Secondly, focusing on high-ranking students helps to develop high-quality human resources. Students with a high level of education can contribute to the development of the country's economy as well as future scientific achievements. Moreover, university graduates can find jobs easily as most companies have high requirements for job-handling skills that are learned in university, thereby reducing the unemployment rate. On the other hand, I would side with those who believe that universities are accessible to all people of all ages and abilities. To begin with, students got bad grades in the past does not mean they are not smart or successful in the future. High school transcripts only partially reflect academic ability. For example, there are some people who are not good at logical calculations but they have special talent in the field of painting or they have a lot of practical experience. Hence academic results are not the only measurement of intelligence and should not be considered the only factor that determines a person's chance to pursue higher education. Furthermore, ages do not reflect a person's intellectual potential. In some majors both deep thinking and practical experience are required so ex-pats may even outperform top students as they have more experience with their real-life situations. In conclusion, despite the fact that providing higher education only for high marks people, I hold a firm belief that higher education should be accessible to all people of all ages.