The first car appeared on british roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there maybe as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Britishers started travelling in cars in 1888 and it has been estimated that the vehicles in the UK will increase considerably, reaching about 29 million by the year 2000. But in order to curtail this increasing trend, people must be motivated to use public transport and strict rules must be ensured globally about the ownership of cars. In my opinion, I fully agree with this as more cars on the roads not only create traffic issues but will also increase pollution. Now-a-days, owning a car has become a social symbol, but it has created many issues. As there are more cars on the tracks, the roads are getting congested and over crowded. On the one hand, this not only prolongs the journey time, but also makes the trip tiring and exhausting. While on the other hand, the people have become short tempered and there are enhanced chances of accidents. Moreover, the environment also gets polluted and has hazardous effects on the individuals. Ultimately, the rise in the quantity of vehicles is directly related to the quality of life in a country. For example, a recent study published in the British journal has highlighted the top most cities of the world on the basis of traffic with Bangkok and Dhaka at the top. The problem of overcrowding of cars can be solved by providing alternate travelling options and implementing strict laws regarding ownership of the cars. Firstly, public transport sector must be developed properly, so that alternate measures like trams, subways, metro busses, underground railways and shuttle vans must be available to the public for a safe and sound journey. Secondly, international laws must be devised again regarding the sale and purchase of the cars. This will, ultimately, help in improving the life and social well-being of a society. For example, the Netherlands has encouraged the use of bicycle to avoid travelling by cars. To conclude, the more the cars on the paths, the more will be chaos. I think that the nations must highlight this issue and try to solve it by a collective effort, so that the environment becomes clean and the people become healthier.