The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on the British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. What are your views on this issue?

In the UK, the number of cars per household has increased alarmingly in the last few decades and this is primarily due to the lower cost of automobiles today. This topic is of particular interest because car use is harmful to the environment. This essay will offer suggestions on how to decrease the cars on British roads. To begin with, in order to cut down the number of cars on the street, one suggestion is to enhance the use of different kinds of public transports. By this I mean that it is a widely known fact that cars burn fossil fuel, which is extremely harmful to the environment, and by introducing an environmentally friendly vehicle, which must be cheap and convenient in order to encourage citizens to use them, the planet can be saved. For instance, the electric tram has been used in most places in the UK to decrease the number of private cars and many people choose to travel to their work using the tram because the price is reasonable and the time is perfect. Hence, it can be seen that by encouraging the use of alternative transport the problem of an increasing number of cars might be resolved. Another suggestion is to introduce a worldwide law to command car owners. In the last decade, the price of cars has decreased dramatically, and this helps people to buy cars easily. By imposing a law to increase the price per car, for example, this might help to reduce the number of cars seeing on British roads indeed. To conclude, this essay has looked at some suggestions to tackle the problem of rising car number in the UK. Perhaps, finding another type of transportation and introducing a strong law to control car numbers are the correct actions.