The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the years 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past decade, the means of transports have been alternate to fit our standards, especially cars. In the British roads in 1888 the first car appeared by then in 2000 there are approximately 29 million personal vehicles of the UK roads. Cars are extremely essential to everyone in this world, they can transport us from one place to another without worrying about missing the car, or buying a ticket unless you park wrong. Of course, cars give all of us uncountable of benefits, for example, it helps us to get to a place right on time without having to stop at countless places on the way, to feel comfortable in something that belongs to you. And If there was an accident people don't have to wait for a train or bus or ambulance, they can get in the car and drive fast to the hospital. Moreover, Cars can bring numerous drawbacks at the same time. For instance, every year car accidents increase due to the fact of careless drivers. Air pollution has been skyrocketing and no one seems to care about it, in fact people will be depleting the limited fuel and polluting the air more for unnecessary car rides. Traffic has increased along with noise pollution. And the biggest setback is the loss of patience in the drivers, everyone isstressedand uptight when driving. At the time of driving one's true human nature could be found. I believe that countries should start to put limits on the number of cars being sold, they should start encouraging public transports to make our environment healthier and to save more lives. The government can reduce the number of costs for tickets necessary for the usage of the trains or buses, thus it can be easier and cheaper for citizens. After that public transport needs to be more “luxurious” so that people can feel better about themselves and encourage more people to use them. The lawmakers can raise awareness of all the damage cars can produce, they can give notices and weekly reminders to limit the usage or increase the prices of fuels and cars hence it will be harder for people to buy. In summation, cars are a great item of luxury to people. Cars are valued to the extent, that several people believe that it represents what kind of person you are in terms of wealth and style. On the other hand, I stand to encourage to limit the usage of cars, there are numerous other ways to display one's wealth.