The entire face of agriculture industry has changed due to coming of modern technology. It has proven extremely beneficial to the farmers, but one cannot overlook its effect on the environment and society. Do you agree?

Modern technology has brought a lot of desirable in the agriculture industry. Changes in techniques are seen right from sowing seeds to harvesting crops. But it is equally true that it has adversely affected the environment and human beings. Due to modern equipment of farming, less manpower is needed and land is cultivated in a better manner. It has helped in increasing the yield of crops and generating more profit for farmers. Due to genetic engineering, it is possible to get different fruits and vegetables throughout the year. Once can also get seedless fruits and vegetables in different shapes and colors. For example, now watermelon is also available in square shapes with yellow colour from inside. Different itrigation system have developed like drip irrigation, sprinkler irrigation etc. , due to which farmers do not have to depend entirely on the rains for the production of crops. Transportation facility has made it possible to send the food stuff in any part of the world. However, extensive use of chemical fertilizer has caused an increase in land and water pollution. When chemical fertilizer seep in the land, they are absorbed by the crops and ultimately are consumed by us with food intake, which affects our health. When the same chemical fertilizer go in water, aquatic life is affected. Due to the partice of inorganic farming, real taste and nutrition of the fruits is getting lost. One definitely cannot stop the use of modern technology in farming as it has proven to be quite beneficial. However, one can surely try and reduce its harmful effects on the society by taking certain measures. I suggest that proper guidance should be given to farmers on the usage of chemical fertilizers. They should make more use of natural fertilizer to stop further harm to the environment. Organic farming should be practiced more to benefit the society as well as environment.