Today youth are unemployed even after completing their education. What are the reasons behind growing youth unemployment? What effects does it have? According to you how can this problem of youth unemployment be overcome?

Recently, more and more graduates are finding it hard to secure employment. Although there can be many different reasons behind increased unemployment in different nations. Overpopulation, lack of proper training and skills act as a major contributor to the problem which might have many adverse effects such as increased crime rates and mental health issues in young people. I believe reforms in governments policies for high quality training for futuristic education and diversion of more funds to create entrepreneurship opportunities would assist to eliminate the issues faced by the young job seekers. Indeed, youth unemployment poses a serious problem, let us examine its reasons, effects and propose a solution. To begin with, let us shed some light on causes of unemployment. First and foremost, overpopulation plays a big role in rising youth unemployment. To elaborate, it creates a competitive environment where employer tends to choose the most suitable candidate through a channelised and tough selection procedure out of all the qualified people. Overpopulation causes more competition for employment. Not only does increased competition for work make it tougher to find a job, it makes easier for employer to hire employees for a lower wage because there are more applicants than positions to fill. Only few candidates are selected and rest remain unemployed even though they have qualifications. In addition, lack of appropriate training and skills for in designated occupations makes it hard for graduates to grab the available opportunities. To clarify, failure of policy makers to analyse the labour market and provide educational institutions with data and description of skills needed for a particular position leads to unemployment of many young professional with obsolete training and skills even though they have professional degrees. Besides, the obsolete training educational institutions have not updated their curriculum for university job ready courses which make it harder for students to learn what would make them employed. To exemplify, a recent study conducted by State Teacher’s Union of Western Australia analysed the different unit contents of pre-service teaching courses offered by 5 different universities in 2021, clearly demonstrated that the content description and delivery has not been updated in the last 10 years which is leading to teachers who are not well equipped with skills needed to teach, and they remain unemployed regardless of their degrees. On the contrary, there are many effects of youth unemployment. Primarily, increased crime rate is a product of youth unemployment as no jobs to earn livelihood forces young minds to think of alternate ways to earn money which includes robberies, drug smuggling, murders and anti-social behaviours such as domestic violence. To explicate, a person with no job and lack of financial security easily get trapped by thoughts of finding easy ways to earn money by indulging in crimes as robbing a bank would provide immediate financial gains and solution to unemployment. To continue, being qualified with no work makes a person to overthink which causes a lot of mental health issues in young generation. To explain, at young age, people loose self-confidence as they have not secured a job even after being highly qualified. They start overthinking which generates certain chemicals in brain causing anxiety, depression, stress in unemployed people, which if not treated or diagnosed timely even leads to suicidal thought and suicides. To illustrate, an article published in The Hindu by Dr. Felix Bast in March 2020 indicated that the number of youngsters who committed suicide due to unemployment in the last decade increased drastically. Furthermore, there are some solutions to flatten the rising curve of youth unemployment. First of all, government policies have a profound effect on generation of employment. To elucidate, an in-depth labour market analysis should provide a data to educational institutions and other involved stakeholders for mandatory skills and knowledge. This will further create avenues for universities and training institutes to change their course structure to upskill the workforce and have more people job ready. Moreover, government should assist unemployed graduates through reformed capital investment policies and loans to set up their small business ventures if they want. To substantiate, low interest rate start-up loans for unemployed but qualified youngsters would not only provide them a platform to showcase their skills and talents but also improves confidence while earning livelihood. For instance, the prime minister Rojgar Yojana scheme in1993 in India provided self-employment to one million educated unemployed youth in the country in first five years and it was a great success and reduced unemployment by 20%. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that lack of skills matching to the latest labour market trends and competition due to overpopulation making it hard for youth to find jobs which is giving birth to heightened crime rates and mental health issues in them. I believe, reforms in government policies for upskilling the workforce for the latest market needs and reversion of funds through grants and subsidised loans to the educated youngsters for their businesses and innovation ventures would certainly lower the unemployment rates in young graduates.