All fathers should be entitled to time-off from work when their children are born.

These days, it has been often argued that fathers should also be entitled to time off work when their children are born. I for one, strongly agree that like mothers, fathers should also be entitled to parental leave. Why do I believe so? First of all, fathers are considered pillars in the development of a child’s emotional well-being. A good and present father/husband creates a healthy environment for his wife and children --- this means more than just financial support. Even if the father is earning a high salary, but without the benefit of paternity leave, once his child is born, the joy in personally raising and rearing his child cannot be compensated by such circumstances. Let us look at the mother who has to go through the process of regaining her strength and vigour after childbirth, she has to be in prime condition to be able to look after the baby. In addition to this, she has to have someone to assist her in the early stages of parenting. Who is more qualified for this role if not the father? Secondly, the paternity leave will give ample time for the father to adjust to his new role. As new parents, they will both realize the true joys and pains involved in embracing things like new sleeping patterns that may include waking up to feed the baby, endless crying because of wet diapers, and so forth. Surely, I could say that the workplace will become a more efficient one after the male employee gets his reality check that being part of a beautiful experience of his child's birth was worthwhile. With the father going through this heart-warming moment with his family, his persona will change for the better thus creating a good work-life balance and a happy family.