The Effects of Social Media on Students

In today's society, there are many controversial comments about using social media networks, especially facebook. Although it is said that facebook can bring some benefits for users, from my perspective the drawbacks will be far more significant. BODY: POSITIVE EFFECT: The reason why I suppose that using facebook can derive benefits would be that People can keep in touch with a large amount of information if they use social     media platforms, especially facebook. This might be because there is a great source of news which is published on facebook on a daily basis. In fact, many youngsters in VietNam get access to facebook to broaden their knowledge about novel news of the world when they surf facebook => As a result, people can widen their horizon not only about news from their country but also from others. NEGATIVE EFFECT: <> In the case of societies and local communities, FACEBOOK has had a negative impact on our lives. First and foremost, people do not have good social lives when they become facebook addicts It is being noticed that people spend most of their time remaining online instead of having real-life meetings since there are many recreational activities on facebook such as chatting, watching live streams and updating status. In fact, nowaday young people are less interactive directly with their friends and they spend more than 6-7 hours texting together via facebook. => Thus, people are becoming more and more dependent on the virtual world and less confident when they interact with their locals. Another point which could be taken into account is cyberbullying. This is because people can act cyberbullying in many ways like sending bad messages, stealing and leaking personal information or posing as a person to hurt others. For example, 5 years ago in Dong Nai a 15-year-old middle school girl posted a CONCLUSION: It is true that Facebook is a good site for people to entertain or socialize. However, in my opinion, the disadvantages can be outweighed by the advantages as it can make people live a sedentary lifestyle and pose many threat by hackers.