The EFFECTS of rising sea level

Nowadays, besides facing serious pollution of the environment or the phenomenon of greenhouse effect, our Earth is also facing another worrying phenomenon that is rising sea level. Climate change on Earth is causing ice to melt rapidly and sea levels to rise. This is extremely serious. It may even cause many coastal cities to disappear. The two main negative effects that rising sea level brings are human impacts and environmental pollution. Humans cannot avoid the consequences of the rising sea level that they contribute to creating. The sea level will increase, it can lead to the phenomenon of “sea encroachment” – sea water penetrates deep into the land. This leads to more and more saline intrusion in coastal and riverside areas. In particular, it also lacks fresh water for production and living. Moreover, islands, archipelagos and coastal areas may also be submerged, people will lose their land and their homes. Additionally, One of the immediate impacts of the increasing sea level on the economy would be the threat posed the tourism industry. The frequent flooding and the destruction of beaches would break the backbone of the tourism industry. Local people will lose certain sources of income from tourists because of floods and increasing saltwater intrusion and land. Because of rising sea level, there is a threat of environmental pollution. The amount of methane, if released when the permafrost in the Arctic melts, will cause the Earth's temperature to rise. Causing greenhouse effect and ozone depletion, accelerating climate change in a negative direction. Rising temperatures also aggravate air pollution due to the ozone layer. Especially emissions from vehicles, factories, and other sources react to sunlight and temperature, etc. The ground-level ozone layer is a major contributor to photochemical smog. And the higher the temperature, the thicker the fog layer. Seawater is also more acidic, largely due to absorbing emissions. If this concentration continues to increase, marine life will face a great risk of extinction. Especially species with shells or bones such as mollusks, crabs, corals, etc. Besides these, the rise in sea level would also make an impact on the lives on beaches. The presence of more saltwater on the shores will disrupt the ecosystem, resulting In the vanishing of different kinds of plants. Moreover, Heavy rain causes rivers and lakes to overflow, destroying houses. Contaminating drinking water sources, spreading waste and polluted air. At the same time, hot and humid conditions also facilitate disease spread through water and food to develop. In conclusion, the consequences of sea level rise are leading to a series of extreme weather events, directly affecting the quality of human life and causing many harms to the environment. Sea level rise is no longer a risk that it has appeared in life, is a challenge not unique to any country. Therefore, each country, each person on Earth needs specific actions. We can do from the smallest things such as not littering, planting lots of trees, or factories also need to treat waste before releasing it into the environment. Reduce harmful substances released into the environment to save our home.