The effect of social media beauty

Social media has greatly increased in popularity ever since the creation of computers, laptops, smart phones, and tablets. There are numerous social applications, where millions of individuals can create their own profiles and communicate with each other. While many thinks that social media is basically used for contacting with friends and the sharing of their experiences, social media has slowly progressed into presenting individuals with their own definition and ideas of beauty. This has been known to affect the confidence of individuals concerning their body image, body adjustment and how they should view themselves in today’s society. Social media is one of the most important influences contributing to the mental and emotional health of many individuals. With social media frequently revealing ideal beauty comparisons, the decisions of men and women’s beauty choices are effective worldwide. Teenagers and young adults with social media accounts on platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, TikTok, etc. constantly share their looks by posting selfies of them wearing outfits that may catch the attention on many other social media users and are constantly seeking feedback through likes, comments, and followers to uphold a perfect and stable image of themselves. Images shown on social media platforms are ideal and unrealistic due to digital adjustments in order to set high expectations from individuals of the society. Inadequacies are removed by airbrushing and using photo applications to make teeth white and make bodies look slim in order to be accepted as beauty standards. These images have given a great influence on the emotional, mental, and behavioral characteristics of one’s own body image as they portray men and women who are slim as being more beautiful and successful compared to overweight individuals. Constant quests for the perfect lean and muscular body may generate negative feelings which can result in a change in eating one’s behaviors, thereby increasing their chances of weight issues and eating disorders. An individual’s body image concerns throughout men and women comprehensively, but social media has increased many concerns through posting makeup advertisement videos and the use of the social media. Many makeup businesses promote themselves as makeup artists on social media platforms. As many businesses continuously post advertisements and pictures that have been computer edited from the work they have done on their customers, they reflect more attractiveness and profession on social media. Those who fall for these beauty advertisements, specifically teenagers, can hardly differentiate reality from fantasy. With bloggers frequently advertising their products on social media, cosmetics have gained more popularity for women and men misrepresenting their understanding of beauty pressuring them to look perfect.